ITEM: 2.9



Memorandum

TO: CITY COUNCIL FROM: Mayor Sam Liccardo

SUBJECT: CITY COUNCIL DATE: 01/04/21

APPOINTMENTS OF VICE MAYOR AND MEMBERS OF COMMITTEES AND BOARDS

APPROVED: DATE: 01/11/20

RECOMMENDATION

1. Apprise the Council of the Mayor's Appointments for each of the standing committees, as described in Exhibit "A" of this Memorandum.

- 2. Appoint the following Councilmembers to each of the committees and assignments, as described in Exhibit "B" of this Memorandum.
- **3.** Re-appoint Chappie Jones as Vice Mayor.

DISCUSSION

I respectfully submit my recommendations for Council consideration. Pursuant to Section 503 of the City Charter, I recommend the re-appointment of Vice Mayor Chappie Jones for an additional tenure of two years. After consulting with several councilmembers, including Chairperson Magdalena Carrasco, I also recommend the dissolution the Ad Hoc Housing Construction and Development Services Committee.

EXHIBIT A2021 City Council Standing Committee Appointments

	Chair	Vice Chair	Member	Member	Member
Rules & Open	Liccardo	Jones	Arenas	Cohen	Davis
Government					
Committee					
Public Safety,	Peralez	Jimenez	Mahan	Jones	Arenas
Finance, &					
Strategy					
Support					
Transportation	Davis	Cohen	Esparza	Peralez	Foley
&					
Environment					
Community &	Foley	Esparza	Mahan	Peralez	Carrasco
Economic					
Development					
Neighborhood	Arenas	Carrasco	Esparza	Cohen	Jimenez
Services &					
Education					
Smart City and	Mahan	Cohen	Jones	Liccardo	Foley
Innovation					

EXHIBIT B

2021 Council Appointments

Board, Commission or Committee	Position	Appointee
ABAG – Executive Board		Mahan
ABAG – Executive Board		Esparza
ABAG – Executive Board		Peralez
ABAG – Executive Board	Alternate	Arenas
ABAG – Executive Board	Alternate	Foley
ABAG – Executive Board	Alternate	Jimenez
ABAG – General Assembly Delegate		Jimenez
Airport Commission	Liaison	Cohen
Appeals Hearing Board	Liaison	Foley
Arts Commission	Liaison	Carrasco
Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee	Liaison	Jimenez
Caltrain Centralized Equipment Maintenance & Operations Facilities Oversight Committee		Davis
Caltrain Joint Powers Board		Davis
Caltrain Local Policy Makers Group	Alternate	Jimenez
Civil Service Commission	Liaison	Cohen
Clean Energy Community Advisory Committee	Liaison	Mahan
Deferred Compensation Advisory Committee	Liaison	Mahan
Destination: Home		Liccardo
Downtown Parking Board	Liaison	Peralez

Ethics Commission		Jones
Expressway Plan 2040 Project Advisory Board		Mahan
Federated Employees Retirement Board	Non-Voting Member	Davis
Grand Boulevard Initiative Task Force		Davis
Historic Landmarks Commission	Liaison	Davis
Housing and Community Development Advisory Committee		Jimenez
Joint Venture Silicon Valley		Liccardo
League of California Cities		Cohen
League of California Cities	Alternate	Esparza
League of California Cities – Women's Caucus		Arenas
Library & Early Education Commission	Liaison	Arenas
Mayor's Gang Prevention Task Force	Chair	Liccardo
Mayor's Gang Prevention Task Force		Peralez
Mayor's Gang Prevention Task Force		Carrasco
Mayor's Gang Prevention Task Force		Arenas
Metropolitan Transportation Commission		Liccardo
Monterey Corridor Working Group	Chair	Esparza
Monterey Corridor Working Group	Vice Chair	Jimenez
Neighborhoods Commission	Liaison	Mahan
Parks and Recreation Commission	Liaison	Mahan
Planning Commission	Liaison	Jimenez

Police and Fire Retirement Board	Non-Voting Member	Foley
Police Athletic League Board		Carrasco
Recycling and Waste Reduction Commission of Santa Clara County		Foley
Recycled Water Policy Advisory Committee		Cohen
Recycled Water Policy Advisory Committee		Arenas
San José Arena Authority		Davis
San José Arena Authority		Esparza
San José Arena Authority	Mayor's Staff	Henry Smith
San José Sports Authority		Davis
San José Sports Authority		Jimenez
Santa Clara County Anti-Human Trafficking Commission	Liaison	Arenas
Santa Clara County Anti-Human Trafficking Commission	Alternate	Peralez
Santa Clara County Cities Association		Jones
Santa Clara County Cities Association	Alternate	Mahan
Santa Clara County Cities Association – Legislative Action Committee		Jones
Santa Clara County Cities Association – City Selection Committee		Jones
Santa Clara County Emergency Operational Area Council (formerly Emergency Preparedness Council)		Davis
Santa Clara County Emergency Operational Area Council (formerly Emergency Preparedness Council)		Cohen
Santa Clara County Fairgrounds Ad Hoc Committee		Esparza
Santa Clara County Health Benefits Coalition		Carrasco
Santa Clara County Local Agency Formation (LAFCO)		Jimenez

Santa Clara County Local Agency Formation (LAFCO)	Alternate	Mahan
Santa Clara County Reentry Network Governance Team		Esparza
Santa Clara Valley Habitat Agency Governing Board		Cohen
Santa Clara Valley Habitat Agency Governing Board		Foley
Santa Clara Valley Habitat Agency Governing Board	Alternate	Carrasco
Santa Clara Valley Habitat Agency Governing Board	Alternate	Mahan
Santa Clara Valley Habitat Agency Implementation Board		Mahan
Santa Clara Valley Habitat Agency Implementation Board	Alternate	Foley
Santa Clara Valley Habitat Agency Implementation Board (staff position)	Staff Alternate	Meenaxi Panakkal
Santa Clara Valley Habitat Agency Implementation Board	VTA Representative	Jimenez
Santa Clara Valley Habitat Agency Implementation Board	VTA Representative Alternate	Jones
Santa Clara Valley Transportation Authority Board		Liccardo
Santa Clara Valley Transportation Authority Board		Jones
Santa Clara Valley Transportation Authority Board		Peralez
Santa Clara Valley Transportation Authority Board		Jimenez
Santa Clara Valley Transportation Authority Board		Carrasco
Santa Clara Valley Transportation Authority Board	Alternate	Davis
Santa Clara VTA Board – Policy Advisory Committee		Mahan
Santa Clara VTA Policy Advisory Board – Diridon Station		Peralez
Santa Clara VTA Policy Advisory Board – Diridon Station		Davis
Santa Clara VTA Policy Advisory Board – Eastridge to BART		Arenas
	<u> </u>	

	Carrasco
	Davis
Alternate	Jones
	Cohen
Alternate	Peralez
	Mahan
	Foley
Alternate	Romanow
Liaison	Foley
	Liccardo
	Liccardo
	Foley
	Jones
Alternate	Arenas
Alternate	Peralez
	Jones
	Cohen
	Jimenez
	Cohen
	Davis
	Liccardo
	Alternate Alternate Liaison Alternate

SJ/SC Treatment Plant Advisory Committee	Alternate	Esparza
Team San José/Convention and Visitors Bureau	Liaison	Peralez
West Valley Sanitation District – Sewer Advisory Board		Jones
Work2future Board		Jones
Youth Commission	Liaison	Arenas
Veterans Affairs	Liaison	Esparza
California Cities Gaming Association		Peralez
California Cities Gaming Association	Alternate	Jones
Schools and City Collaborative	Chair	Liccardo
Schools and City Collaborative		Foley
Schools and City Collaborative		Cohen
Schools and City Collaborative		Arenas